HomeFAQSearchRegisterLog in
Come sign up on the new forum ----- www.myrcguide.com

Share | 

Weight - wind - stability

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
hardfourteen

PostSubject: Weight - wind - stability   Wed May 06, 2009 2:03 am

Most topics/comments on these forums seem to be heading toward lighter stronger faster. I can understand the stronger part but, I am NEW to flying (?) and I have a theory. On the smaller heli's if I am willing to sacrifice speed I think adding weight (within reason) should make the heli more stable and better able to handle breeze. Does this make sense? Ever since we got rid of the snow we seem to have wind. Nothing fierce but 10-20 mph... To much for my coax and the HBFP I am to get...
Comments? orange44 orange51
Dave - from the no longer frozen north...
Back to top Go down
Prel

PostSubject: Re: Weight - wind - stability   Wed May 06, 2009 2:21 am

You got to remember that everything you do to gain something is going to cost you somewhere else. Same added weight will indeed make your bird more stable but downside, it has to work harder to generate enough lift. Response will be slower (not always a bad thing for us newbies). One of the problems you could find with slower responce is a tendancy to over correct (slow the heli responce and you also slow your stick input responce).

My suggestion would be to read and try. People tend to broadcast the good side of thier mods but rarely the bad. If you read enough you will find someone who has tied and didn't like a mod and will tell you why.

IMHO on the small lighter helis, SuperSkids add just about the right amount of weight to gain a smoother less twitchy flight but not enough to be a responce problem. I know they made a huge differance to the characteristics of mine.

As with all my posts, I hope If I am wrong anywhere someone will jump in and correct me. We are all learning and can learn so much off of each other.

Darrel
Back to top Go down
Donnie D