RC Guides Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A place for all things Radio Controlled

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in
Come sign up on the new forum ----- www.myrcguide.com

Tips and Tricks

Go down 
+5
suriano
Prel
TRISTAR7737
247rememberme
Donnie D
9 posters
AuthorMessage
Donnie D

Donnie D

Tips and Tricks Empty
PostSubject: Tips and Tricks   Tips and Tricks I_icon_minitimeWed Mar 11, 2009 11:02 pm

Maybe we could use this thread as a place to put any little tips, tricks or ideas that you may have or know about that you use to make the hobby work better for you. I'll start with one of mine. 2cents

As a woodworker I use a little trick that woodworkers use when building a project that makes it easier to repeat or remember accurate measurements. It's called a story pole. For my Rc Helicopters I call it a story stick. I use it to make quick work of reinstalling my flybar and paddles accurately without having to measure every time. Once you have your flybar installed, simply take a small piece of wood or cardboard about 14" wide by whatever length you need and mark and then cut it to the length from your fly weight or link to the end of the flybar. Then after your paddles are installed, make another for the length from the weight or link to the root of the paddle. Next time you have to remove and replace your flybar you wont have to fiddle with all the measuring. Just use the story stick. They will be perfect every time. Saves a bit of time. macguyver smiley-happy088

Donnie D
Back to top Go down
Donnie D

Donnie D

Tips and Tricks Empty
PostSubject: HBFP center hub/flybar binding tip   Tips and Tricks I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 10, 2009 8:01 am

I've noticed that almost every time I install a new center hub on my HBFP that the hole in the center hub that the flybar goes through is very tight around the flybar.